Skip to Content

Board of Directors

Ms Sandra (Sam) Andersen


Sam Andersen joined the AVS board in 2016 and was appointed Chair of the Company on 1 July 2020.

Sam has held senior executive positions at the ANZ Bank, Commonwealth Bank and National Australia Bank. She has also been Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer at several ASX-listed IT companies leading transformation initiatives, as well as Managing Director of a listed allied health services company. She currently serves as a director for a number of government, public unlisted corporations and member-owned organisations.

Sam is Chair of the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation Limited, a director of the Chisholm Institute, Beyond Bank Australia, Australian Hearing Services, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust, and Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee for the Department of Premier and Cabinet, Victoria.

Dr Clive Noble PSM

BAgrSci (Hons), PhD, FIPAA, GAICD

Clive joined the AVS board in 1998 and was Chair of the Company from 1 August 2008 to 30 June 2020. Clive is also a director of the AVS subsidiary, Phytogene Pty Ltd.

Clive is managing director of AgInsight Pty Ltd, a consulting firm that provides science and technology advice to government, industry, universities and the private sector. Clive spent more than 30 years working in the public sector in agriculture and primary industries, most of this period as a senior executive. Clive’s background is in research conduct, research and development strategy and management, corporate strategy, governance and technology commercialisation.

Mr Peter Turvey


Peter is the Chair of the AVS Audit and Risk Management Committee and is Chair of the AVS subsidiary, Phytogene Pty Ltd.

Peter is the former Group General Counsel, Company Secretary and Executive Vice-President Licensing of specialty biopharmaceutical company, CSL Ltd, having retired in 2011. He is currently a principal of Foursight Associates Pty Ltd, and a non-executive director of Starpharma Holdings Ltd.

Peter played a key role in the transformation of CSL from a government-owned entity through Australian Securities Exchange listing in 1994 to the global plasma and biopharmaceutical company that it is today. He was also responsible for the protection and licensing of CSL’s intellectual property and for risk management within CSL.

Dr Richard Aldous

BSc (Hons), PhD, GAIDC

Richard’s background is in energy, resources, public policy and research management in both the public and private sectors. For 10 years he was a senior executive and then Deputy Secretary, Energy and Earth Resources at the Victorian Department of Primary Industries. Richard has also held senior executive roles in resource companies focused on exploration, research and development.

Richard has been a director of the Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) Association, chief executive officer of the CO2CRC and chairman of the CRC for Clean Power from Lignite. At present he is chairing the Ministerial Advisory Council for Earth Resources in Victoria. Richard is also a director of AVS’ subsidiary company, Phytogene Pty Ltd.

Dr Amanda Caples

BSc (Hons), PhD, GAIDC

Amanda is Victoria’s Lead Scientist with broad experience in technology commercialisation (including intellectual property management, licensing and joint ventures), public policy development and governance of public and private entities.

Most recently she has been Deputy Secretary, Sector Development and Programs, at DEDJTR, responsible for developing the Future Industries sector strategies and growth plan, and for supporting the Victorian science, innovation and entrepreneurial sectors.

Amanda has delivered research-led health initiatives, regulatory and legislative scientific reforms and has established international collaborative technology alliances.

Dr Lesley Macleod

BSc (Hons), PhD, Dip. Bus Man., GAICD

Lesley is the former Chief Executive Officer of Dairy Innovation Australia Ltd and has served on the board of the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (FRDC), Murray Dairy, Barley Australia and MBQIP Ltd.

Following a 12-year research career in Edinburgh and Adelaide focusing on grains research, Lesley moved into industry in Victoria where she gained over 20 years' experience in senior agribusiness management for Australian and multinational grain companies. Lesley has a focus on research management, innovation and commercialisation and has established a number of national RD&E programs and not-for-profit companies.